Second PA Republican Mayor Signs Marriage Equality Statement

Mayor Lawrence Keller of New Hope, PA announced this weekend at the tenth annual New Hope Pride festival that he is signing the Mayors for the Freedom to Marry statement. He will be the 18th mayor from Pennsylvania to join the coalition and the second Republican mayor in the state to sign the statement. Mayor Keller opened the New Hope Pride parade and announced the names of the floats. The first Republican Pennsylvania mayor to sign on was Dennis O’Brien of Newtown, also in Bucks County.

Mayor Keller joins seventeen other Pennsylvania mayors in advocating for marriage equality. Philadelphia Mayor Michael Nutter helped form the coalition in January 2012, along with the mayors of Boston, New York, and others. Pittsburgh Mayor Luke Ravenstahl signed onto the statement in June of 2012, after a spokesperson said he would not support marriage equality two months earlier.

Pennsylvania mayors signed onto the Mayors for the Freedom to Marry statement are as follows

  • John Callahan – Bethlehem, PA
  • Carolyn Comitta – West Chester, PA
  • Nicholas DeSantis – New Stanton, PA
  • John Fetterman – Braddock, PA
  • Adam Forgie – Turtle Creek, PA
  • Elizabeth Goreham – State College, PA
  • J. Richard Gray – Lancaster, PA
  • Sandy Green – Kutztown, PA
  • Rick Hoffman – Macungie, PA
  • Josh Maxwell – Downingtown, PA
  • William McCall – Parker, PA
  • Tim McGuire – Homewood Borough, PA
  • Michael Nutter – Philadelphia, PA
  • Dennis O’Brien – Newtown, PA
  • Salvatore Panto – Easton, PA
  • Luke Ravenstahl – Pittsburgh, PA
  • Libby White –  Doylestown, PA

Nationwide, 350 mayors have joined the Mayors for Freedom to Marry. The following mayors have also signed onto the Mayors for Safe Schools initiative: Carolyn Commita of West Chester, Nicholas DeSantis of New Stanton, Luke Ravenstahl of Pittsburgh, Elizabeth Goreham of State College, Salvatore Panto of Easton and Sandy Green of Kutztown.

Leave a Reply